MCPyramid – Part 2

Spoiler warning: This post includes spoilers for some of the traps in this map, as well as the general gameplay.

For my next foray into this I was using the included texture pack as I’d mentioned in my last post. However, I was only using the terrain textures not any of the monster or interface changes.

Less like a workshop, more like a house.

I had a complete re-think about my starting area and decided not only to get a decent house set up but also to tear down the greenhouse/workshop. The problem with the existing setup was that the soil was all enclosed in the building. This was fine for the crops as they needed to be protected, but the grass part wouldn’t attract any animals locked away in a tiny hut.

After moving the trees out of the way I built my proper house beside the current structure, moved some of the dirt and the water pool (well, puddle) to the front and re-planted the crops. Then I removed the old building and rearranged the remaining grass into what I hoped was an appealing shape for animals to spawn on. Actually it was just a 3×3 square but who can say what shapes appeal to sheep?

The inner sanctum.

By the time I’d finished I had quite a nice place with a fenced in front yard, a skylight and a basement complete with murder holes. It also had fantastic desert views. I spent quite a long time messing about with this getting it just right and it was possibly a little over the top for its purpose, but I had fun doing it and that’s what counts, right? Besides, the pyramid had been there about 4000 years and didn’t show any signs of moving anywhere fast.

A small haven of sanity.

Anyway, I was now fully prepared and ready to go into the pyramid. I actually thought ahead a little here and decided that, since I was bound to die multiple times, It’d be wise to set up a small base at the entrance of the pyramid to which I could occasionally return and drop off my loot. I built a small structure right in the entrance and blocked it off in both directions with doors. I was quite close to the house but running across the desert at night through the hordes wouldn’t be a smart idea.

I decided to use my usual caving navigation system of placing torches on the right wall as I go in so that I can follow them on the left to come out and marking unexplored places with a torch on the floor just before them. It was pretty much just a case of picking a random direction to start in but my general method was to go as far as I could down one path, marking side corridors, then on the way back investigate each of those and follow the same process.

I see what you did there.

I’m not going to talk through every step since that would be too much like a walkthrough but I’m going to go over a few of the things I encountered in roughly the order I encountered them. The first little hint about things to come was down one of the early corridors. There was a small passage which ended at some sand. Upon digging some of it away, the sand below my feet (which I had carelessly not noticed) collapsed into a small stairway. I was both impressed and terrified by this. Impressed because it was like one of those cool unfolding staircases that only really exist in movies and terrified because this was clearly a sign of the trickery which lay ahead.

Umm… it wasn’t me.

Still, at least now I was somewhat prepared so I moved on. I’d investigated a few more areas, finding dead ends and a few chests of goodies and eventually came into a reasonably large room with a few exits. I opted for the one on the right and entered a slightly smaller room containing a chest at the far end. I had an experimental poke at the sand near the doorway with my shovel and the next thing I knew I was falling as the entire floor gave way. Not only that, but lava was now starting to pour into the room from the top along both sides. Again I was struck by the same two emotions as with the staircase, but the terror definitely won here. However, I wasn’t entirely unprepared for something like this and had made sure I carried plenty of sand with me at all times, both for “elevators” and making sandstone so I calmed myself and sand-elevatored my way back up to the chest (though you’ll have to excuse me for not taking a screenshot of the encroaching lava) then made a bridge over to the chest in what I like to incorrectly call safety.

Surely you don’t want me to go down there…

At some point (I can’t remember where but I think it was on this level) I was taught not only to fear the floor but also to fear the ceiling by having one dumped on my head. Luckily I had the wits to dig upwards with my shovel as quickly as possible, narrowly avoiding suffocation. Armed with these two valuable lessons I headed down to the next floor by way of the huge staircase I had found earlier. Again, I decided to set up another small base for this new level for dropping things off which I did at the bottom of the staircase.

Upon reaching the second floor you may now think that you know all the tricks, but that would be a very silly thing to think. In this place, complacency will get you killed. Those basic concepts of falling floors and ceilings are still used, but in more creative ways and of course there are other sorts of traps equally capable of ending your tomb-defiling life. By now I was extremely paranoid and wasn’t touching any sand in rooms without first ensuring I had a safe footing. This would sometimes involve digging half way down a corridor towards a room in fear. Half way may seem excessive but in one particular case I had started digging down a corridor quite a way from a room only to find that I was only two blocks away from a plummeting death.

Sneaky.

There are also some rooms that can lull you into a false sense of security. In one such room I had performed my usual paranoid checks before proceeding. After removing the usual suspicious block I saw a triggering mechanism, but nothing obvious happened. Nothing, that is, except for the wall of lava creeping across the room behind me which I saw as I turned to leave. Luckily, on the way in I’d seen a line of sand above the doorway and blocked it, expecting it to fall or do something hideous and this had broken the chain so that only half of the lava had been exposed. My smugness at this was short-lived as I set myself on fire anyway trying to get out.

I’m sure glad I didn’t fall down there *cough*.

The room I had the most difficulty with was also as a direct result of my stupidity. I’d disarmed the floor, resulting in a massive pit except for a few blocks just inside. I decided (for whatever reason) to remove one of these, which I did, then promptly stepped into the hole. Unfortunately, at the bottom were four monster spawners which proceeded to make my life difficult before I could locate and disable them. I ended up dying here two or three times in the efforts to retrieve my things, which ultimately were mostly futile. It would have been useful to have made beds at my small bases to use as respawn points, but unfortunately I hadn’t had any sheep spawn on my grass and I’d forgotten that you could make wool from string so it was a long trek back after each death.

No sane person in possession of sandstone would jump across that.

There are plenty of other little tricks pulled but I won’t go into these in any detail as that would just spoil things, but by the time I reached the end I was a nervous wreck and couldn’t look at a piece of sand without going for a cry in a corner.

A bunch of arrows which are, thankfully, not embedded in my face.

I’m also not going to say anything at all about the final room since that would be like telling someone how a book ends. However, by the time you have finished you’ll probably have collected enough resources to finish the other challenges.

The upgrade.

I completed most of the challenges, although I wasn’t sure if the one about the trap meant one in the pyramid or one of your own creation. Since I’d triggered or disarmed everything I could find in the pyramid I created one myself to fulfil the challenge using some components from traps I’d disarmed.

“He holds fast to the Neter’s name and inspires others to meditate on it.”

It was probably the most pathetic trap ever created and took a zombie about five goes at it to actually die, but it got me a challenge completion. The ones I didn’t complete were:

  • Expert farmer: Grow 32 sugar cane [I never found any.]
  • Pharaoh’s best soldier: Get to the tomb room without dying [Haha!]
  • Pyramid builder: Replace all sand covering the exterior of the pyramid with sandstone [I’d still be there doing it now.]
  • Ride like an Egyptian!: Make a roller coaster that (at least) goes up one side of the pyramid, and down the other [I don’t think I really found enough resources to do this.]
  • I was never even there!: Make it through the pyramid without triggering any traps [Does intentionally setting them off count? Either way – fail!]
  • Riding unlike royalty: Ride a pig! [Despite the lusciousness of my grass, nothing ever spawned on it.]

If you look closely you can see the world’s most ineffective trap.

So to finish things off, I’ll just say that I thoroughly enjoyed this map and recommend it highly, and I’ll leave you with these three very important things to remember:

  1. Not checking the floor can get you killed.
  2. Not checking the ceiling can get you killed.
  3. Pretty much anything else can get you killed.
Posted on 26 July 2011, in Games, Minecraft. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

