MCPyramid – Part 1

Creator: War904
Site: Minecraft Forum
Map’s challenges:

  • (many – see the forum post)

My own choices:

  • Difficulty: Normal
  • Hardcore: No
  • Beds may only be used to set a spawn point (and to complete one of the challenges).

Spoiler warning: This post includes minor spoilers for some of the traps in this map, as well as the general gameplay.

So I’m back in the desert again for this one. MCPyramid is more of a puzzle map than a survival map but it does have a few challenges beyond solving whatever there is to solve. Once again, it was one of paulsoaresjr’s videos that brought this one to my attention so I’m holding off watching any more parts of that until I’ve done it myself.

I did run into a show-stopping problem on my first attempt (the first two actually) but it was nothing to do with the pyramid itself and I’ll get to that later. Some of the things I did in the first attempt were important to the early stages of learning the map so I’ll start from that attempt rather than from the current one.

Keep off the grass!

You start in the desert not far from the pyramid. At your starting location is a patch of grass and a chest containing a few things, including some basic tools, some seeds and a sapling. Night was fast approaching (as it always is in Minecraft) and since there was no form of shelter other than the pyramid itself, which didn’t really appeal to me as a safe place to spend the night, the obvious place to build something was near the grass. I built the standard first night simple hut and planted the sapling and seeds.

Looks like a good place to cower for the night.

While digging up some sand for use on the hut I hit bedrock just two blocks down. Clearly there would be no access to cave systems and resources on this map, at least not out here. I spent the first part of night cowering in my hut but then decided I’d try digging again in case it was different here. I didn’t hit any bedrock but after digging down over 64 blocks and seeing nothing but sand I decided that my initial assessment regarding easy resources was probably correct.

Looks like I wasn’t the only one attempting the challenges.

The sun was up by the time I’d filled in the hole again so I set off for an preliminary poke around in the pyramid. On the way I climbed to the top of the pyramid. This is one of the challenges but I wanted to see if there was anything up there anyway. There wasn’t. On the way back down to the entrance it started raining, thus checking off another challenge. This obviously isn’t really a desert biome.

Bye-bye sand.

As I broke into the pyramid back at the entrance I realised why there was no rule about the breaking of blocks – most of the pyramid inside was made from bedrock. I won’t cover much of what I did in this first attempt but it looks like every map I play has an obligatory moment of stupidity. This time it happened when I’d come across a section of corridor with no floor and lava at the bottom (no, I didn’t fall in, although I almost did as I first thought it was a staircase down with a torch at the bottom). I had a stack of sand with me so I thought I’d create some sandstone blocks to make a floor. I put the sand into my inventory’s crafting area but instead of crafting the blocks I pressed the inventory key again for some bizarre reason. This resulted in the inventory closing and me throwing all my sand into the lava. Sigh.

No tree. No saplings.

Overall it was pretty dark in the pyramid (as expected) other than a few redstone torches and an occasional normal torch so my preliminary investigation ended when I’d used all of my initial torches. It was time to go turn my tree into sticks and charcoal and this is where I ran into the problem I mentioned at the beginning – no saplings dropped after cutting down the tree. It was clear that I’d be needing many torches in the pyramid and with no readily available method of creating any more, continuing would be pointless (and suicidal).

So I started again and this time I’d ensure I had at least a few saplings before I did anything else. I planted the sapling immediately then built my initial shelter. By the time I was done the tree had grown so I cut it down and cursed slightly as again no saplings dropped. My starting constructions in this one were impractical and ugly so I didn’t mind ditching it.

That’s more like it (apart from the rain).

The third attempt I backed up before cutting down the tree, though this turned out to be unnecessary as this time I got some saplings. Since I knew I’d be requiring a torch farm I decided to get this well established first and stockpile some torches. It’d also give me time to make sure I wouldn’t run out of seeds initially either.

The greenhouse/workshop.

Some of the challenges refer to doing things to your “house” but since at this stage I essentially live in a workshop/greenhouse I’ll probably need to make something better. One of them refers to diamond and gold blocks so there’s probably a good supply hidden in the pyramid somewhere but I don’t know when or if I’ll find those so for now it’ll have to be sand/sandstone or wood. I think I’ll spend some more time getting set up and build more of a “house”, turning the current place into a dedicated greenhouse. I need to protect the crops from stamping mobs and I definitely want to avoid the risk of a creeper sneaking up and obliterating all my dirt while I’m farming.

That’s it for part one. Next time I’ll also use the optional texture pack included with the map. I don’t generally use texture packs (other than the clear glass) but the this one replaces the bedrock texture with a more “pyramidy” one and since it looks like there’s a lot of bedrock in there a more fitting texture will be better to look at, as well as reflecting more light.

Posted on 24 July 2011, in Games, Minecraft and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

